Article Review: “Dead Woman’s Pass”

I reviewed “Dead Woman’s Pass” by Jonathan Mendoza. This is a well crafted narrative with interesting anecdotes, a challenge overcome, and a clear takeaway. I felt like I got a glimpse of the adventure and some of the struggle to reach a life-changing goal. The overall message is relatable. Reaching your destination is satisfying but what really affects you is how you arrived there. You learn so much more about yourself when you are challenged. The goal drives you to overcome but what you are really overcoming is your own limitations. It’s a timeless and intriguing story, always.

I have two suggestions for the piece. I need more struggle. I know the adrenaline was in overdrive at the time and as Jonathan was writing remembering all that he accomplished on that trip. It is easy to forget the suffering when the reward was so great. As a reader, who can definitely relate, I would like to feel and read about the lowest point of the journey. Was there a moment you thought about throwing in the towel? Did the cold night and anxious nerves cost much needed hours rest? Did that final groggy day dampen spirits? Feeling this pain makes the reward pay off that much more in the end.

A minor point but some of the prose could have been tightened up a bit more.  For example: “Every response was pretty much the same, ‘Let’s do this'” Giving it a bit more punch: “We all agreed, let’s do this.” Short definitive statements like this in either the first or last sentences of paragraphs can be powerful and summarize the mood of particular events.

The descriptive imagery and flow of the piece really work well. I was drawn in with the anecdote and each moment compelled me to read to the end. I also reflected on my own experiences with particularly difficult situations in my life. The intent of the work and the message stuck. Well done, Jonathan!

 

Leave a comment